

## Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability

## **REGULAR MEETING MINUTES**

August 15, 2018, 1:30 P.M. 840 Research Parkway, Suite 450 Oklahoma City, OK 73104

COMMISSION MEMBERS PRESENT: Amy Bixler, Dr. Bo Hannaford, Phredd Evans and

Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn Houston

**COMMISSION MEMBERS ABSENT**: Bruce Day, Doug Brown

**OTHER REGULAR ATTENDEES:** Office of Educational Quality and Accountability

Staff: Dr. Daniel Craig, Angie Bookout, Jennifer Gambrell, Renee Launey-Rodolf, Abby Murphey

Lecrecia Schmidt and Jerry Shay

**VISITORS:** Elizabeth Smith, University of Tulsa; Janet Levit,

University of Tulsa; Maridyth McBee, State Department of Education; Maria Harris, State Department of Education; Craig Walker, State Department of Education; Jan Barrick, Alpha Plus;

Kim Boyd, Oral Roberts University; Arlene

Williams, College Board

**Call to Order:** Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn Houston called the meeting to order at 1:44 P.M.

**Introduction of Commission Members and Roll Call:** Secretary of Education and Workforce Development Melissa McLawhorn Houston asked for the roll call to be taken. Four Commission members were present, and it was established that a quorum existed.

Welcome from Dr. Daniel Craig: Dr. Daniel Craig welcomed everyone to the meeting.

**Approval of Minutes from the June 20, 2018 Commission Meeting**: Mr. Evans made a motion to approve the minutes of the June 20, 2018 Commission meeting as submitted. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: absent Mr. Evans: approve

**Mr. Day:** absent **Secretary Houston:** approve

**Discussion and action on Accreditation Application Status for University of Tulsa**: Secretary Houston made a motion to approve accreditation application status for University of Tulsa. Dr. Hannaford seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: absent Mr. Evans: approve

**Mr. Day:** absent **Secretary Houston:** approve

**Discussion and action on cut score for Grade 11 Math:** Mr. Evans made a motion to adopt the math cut scores as recommended by the Oklahoma State Department of Education, based on the panel's recommendation. Ms. Bixler seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: absent Mr. Evans: approve

Mr. Day: absent Secretary Houston: disapprove

**Discussion and action on cut score for Grade 11 English Language Arts (ELA):** Dr. Hannaford made a motion to adopt the ELA cut scores as recommended by the Oklahoma State Department of Education, based on the panel's recommendation. Mr. Evans seconded the motion. The motion passed as per the following vote:

Ms. Bixler: approve Dr. Hannaford: approve Mr. Brown: absent Mr. Evans: approve

Mr. Day: absent Secretary Houston: disapprove

**New Business:** None

**Announcements and Informational Items:** Dr. Craig announced there may not be a need for a September Commission meeting.

	as submitted	with corrections
on Decemb	er 12, 2018.	
Signed:		
Mel	lissa McLawhorn Houston, Chairman	Dr. Daniel Craig, Executive Director

The meeting adjourned at 3:06 P.M. The minutes of the August 15, 2018 regular meeting of the

Commission for Educational Quality and Accountability were approved (circle one)